Version your work
Versioning lets you create a snapshot of your workflow or component, so that you can return to it later.
Before you begin
- Get edit rights to a space in your team.
- Create or select a workflow or component.
- The workflow or component has unversioned changes ('draft') to save.
Create a version
- Navigate to the item and open the version panel.
- The panel shows existing versions plus any unversioned changes since the last one.
- Click Create version, name the version, add an optional description.
Alternatively, if the workflow is already open in the workflow editor, open the version panel from there.
You can also create a version from the workflow itself using the Version Creator node, e.g. as part of an automated deployment pipeline.
View an older version
From the workflow page:
- Open the version panel.
- Select the version you want to view.
- See the older version in the workflow preview.
From the workflow editor:
- Open the version panel.
- Select the version you want to view.
- See the older version in the workflow editor. You can navigate the workflow, inspect node outputs and configuration, but cannot edit the workflow.
Restore a version
Unversioned changes are lost
Restoring a version overwrites your current draft with the restored version's content. Unsaved changes in the draft are lost, and this cannot be undone.
- Open the version panel.
- Select the version that you want to restore.
- Click Restore this version.
- The latest state of the workflow (i.e. the current draft) is replaced with the restored version. The version that has been restored stays unmodified.
Delete a version
Irreversible operation
Deleting a version removes it from the version history. This operation cannot be undone.
Only team admins can delete a version.
- Open the version panel.
- Select the version you want to delete.
- Click Delete this version.
- The version disappears from the version history.
Run or deploy a version
- Open the workflow and select Run or Deploy.
- From the panel that opens, select the version that you want to execute or deploy.
- The execution starts or the deployment gets created with the selected version of the workflow.