Skip to content

How teams work ​

A team is a group of users who collaborate on shared projects. Team's resources - workflow, data and components - are organized in spaces accessible to the users in the team. A user can be part of multiple teams at the same time.

Team roles ​

Users in a team can have two possible roles:

  • Team Member: browse team's content, create a space, modify and delete spaces, modify, and delete items in the spaces. Team member can have restricted (read only) access to certain spaces.
  • Team Admin: everything that a team member can do, plus add and remove members to a team, promote members to admin, see the run history, manage team deployments, secrets and the GenAI gateway.

For a detailed list see Roles and permissions.

How teams relate to spaces ​

Spaces in Knime are owned by a team. Team admins can further restrict the access to a space to certain team members. See Create and manage spaces.

Who creates a team ​

Teams are created by global admins. See Create a team.

Key concepts ​

  • Team — A group of users who collaborate on shared projects. A user can be part of multiple teams.
  • Team member — A user in a team. Team members browse the team's content, create spaces, and edit items in the spaces where they have edit access.
  • Team admin — A team member who can also manage team members and roles, see the run history, and manage team deployments, secrets, and the GenAI Gateway.
  • Global admin — An admin who creates teams.

Next steps ​

Continue with one of these guides: